Just 10 minutes by car from Varese, it is possible to enter, in absolute safety and accompanied by expert guides, in the heart of the Campo dei Fiori massif, up to a depth of -48 meters along the spectacularly illuminated tourist route of the Remeron Cave. Present on municipal cartography since the first half of the nineteenth century, however, it was necessary to wait for August 1900 for someone to decide to enter the cavity to carry out a real exploration. They would be, in fact, Luigi Vittorio Bertarelli, Luigi Orrigoni, Don Giacomo Pensotti, and Don Luigi Tadini the first to explore the first part of the Remeron, up to -168 meters, discovering the first of the internal underground lakes which was named after its discoverer: Lake Bertarelli. A succession of explorations and the constant increase in the interest of the local authorities made possible that, in 1914, the cave was opened for tourist visits, with an acetylene lighting system and stone and concrete stairs. Tourist openings continued until the mid-1950s and in the same period, Lake Binda was discovered at an altitude of -220 meters as well as the north branches, over 1.5 km of tunnels leading to a second entrance. The deterioration of light systems and the industrial boom that transformed Comerio and Varese in those years caused the abandonment of mountain activities, including the tourist operation of the Remeron. In 2004 two interventions of the Lombardy Region and Campo dei Fiori Regional Park allowed the reconstruction of the walkways and the installation of a new lighting system, thus starting the new tourist life of Remeron.